Musical Direction – Augusto Pacheco | 3 and 4 June

Registration Form

Boarding Students:  Free
External Students Fee: 5€

Registration and payment

You must send the registration form filled in and a proof of the bank transfer and a copy of the piece(s), to the

following email:

Caixa Geral de Depósitos

IBAN: Pt50 0035 0087 00059313930 39

Company: CCA Amélia Laranjeira Tax number: 501 328 106

– The registration and the payment can also be done in the secretariat

of “Centro Cultural de Amarante”;

– The registration will only be accepted after sendind the payment proof;

– The deadline to the registration is 15th June 2018;

– In case of dropping out the registration fee will not be refunded;

Augusto Pacheco – Teacher who will guide the internship and perform the second part of the CCA students’ concert

Augusto Pacheco has started his music studies in the Vilar do Paraíso Music Academy. He has graduated in the Oporto Music and Performing Arts Higher Education School in the class of the teacher José Pina. He has studied in Paris in the National Conservatory of the D’Aubervilliers Region where he has won the Premier Prix (first prize) in the guitar degree course in the class of the teacher Alberto Ponce. He has also studied with him in the Ecole Normale de Music in Paris. He has studied ancient chamber music with Claude Debussy in the Municipal Conservatory under the guidance of the teacher Ilton Wjunisky where he has participated in the performance of the operas Dido and Eneias from H. Purcell. Augusto Pacheco has got a Master’s degree in Music (Performance) by the Aveiro University. As a result of this work he has recorded a guitar CD of the chamber music complete work of the author Fernando Lopes-Graça. He is a doctorate in Music (Performance) by the Aveiro University. He has attended further training courses orientated by the teachers Robert Brightmore, Leo Brouwer, Abel Carlevaro, Jozef Zsapka, Betho Davezac, David Russel and Roland Dyens. He performs regularly solo and with several music chamber groups in the most important festivals in Portugal. He has also performed in France and Russia. He has performed solo with the Oporto National Orchestra, the Madeira Classical Orchestra, Esproarte Orchestra, Filarmonia das Beiras Orchestra and Silver Strings Russian Orchestra. He has won the second prize in the Tomar International Guitar Competition (1st prize not awarded) and the third prize in the Sernancelhe International Guitar Competition. He has developed an intense work in duo with the flutist Raquel Lima, Pourquois Pas Duo. In 2007 he has recorded a CD named Pourquois Pas. He is also a founding member of the Guitar Quartet Parnaso. He is a member of the Soledade Duo with the violinist Gaspar Santos. The composers Ângela Lopes, Eduardo Patriarca, Fabio Gorodski, Óscar Rodrigues, Nuno Peixoto, Fernando C. Lapa, Ricardo Ribeiro, Ricardo Abreu e Fernando Valente have dedicated him some of their pieces. Augusto Pacheco is frequently invited to be a jury in guitar competitions, to teach masterclass and guitar orchestras apprenticeships. He has founded and conducts the Vilar do Paraíso Music Academy Guitar Orchestra. With this orchestra he has participated in the European Youth Music Festival in Neerpelt (Belgium) winning the first prize Cum Laude (2002, 2011 and 2014). He has also won the first prize in the Guitar Orchestra Competition – Gofi Contest in Bad Neuheim, Frankfurt (2006) and in the Fundão City International Competition (2015). He has toured in the city of S. Petersburg (2004), he has performed in the final concert of the 31st anniversary celebration of the 25th April (a Portuguese Holiday) for the Portuguese community in Paris (2005) and he has participated in the Euro Jugendmusik Festival Offenburg (2009). Recently he has toured in New York City having performed in the Carnegie Hall (2016). The orchestra has recorded four CD, Cordas Soltas, Comntrastes, Plaisir and 20 Anos Orquestra de Guitarras. He has conducted the Oporto Plectro Orchestra in 2002 and 2003. He is the guest conductor of the Portuguese Guitars and Mandolins Orchestra. He teaches in the Vilar do Paraíso Music Academy and in the Jean Piaget Institute, Viseu (a higher education school).

José Ferra – Responsible for Ensemble of guitars that will perform the first part of the concert on July 4

José Ferra, guitarist, born in the city of Oporto, has started his music studies in the Óscar da Silva Music School in the city of Matosinhos where he has concluded the conservatory in classical guitar in 2005 under the guidance of the teacher Maria Paula Marques. In 2009 he has concluded the classical guitar degree at the ESMAE – Music and Performing Arts Higher Education School under the guidance of the teacher José Pina. He has received the first prize at the first Classical Guitar Competition of the Oporto Music Conservatory in 2005. He has attended masterclasses with Alberto Ponce, Roland Dyens and Artur Caldeira. He has studied with the Brazilian guitarist Alessandro Penezzi with whom has enhanced his skills in the Brazilian music genre “choro” and in the 7 strings guitar. In what concerns Jazz he has studied guitar with Nuno Ferreira and Carlos Mendes and he has attended music combo classes in the Oporto Jazz School under the guidance of Pedro Barreiros. In 2011 he has entered the Master’s degree in Jazz Performance in the Aveiro University where he has studied with Mário Delgado, André Fernandes, Mário Laginha, Jesus Santandreu among others. He has concluded it in 2015 under the guidance of the teacher Paulo Vaz de Carvalho. In 2017 he has concluded the Master’s degree in Music Teaching in the Piaget Institute, a higher education school. There he has studied with the teacher August Pacheco. He has taught classical guitar in the Óscar da Silva Music School, the Perosinho Music School, the Alberta Lima Music School and in the Music Club. Nowadays he teaches in the Vale do Sousa Music Conservatory, in the N.S. Rosário School and in the Oporto Jazz School. He performes regularly in many concert halls in Portugal and in France as a member of several Portuguese music projects (Traditional, Pop Rock), Fado, Bossa Nova, Samba or Jazz.